Mae and irving jurow

international harpsichord competition

Semifinals and finals for the Ninth Mae and Irving Jurow International Harpsichord Competition will take place August 4-7 in St. Paul, MN. The historic competition includes contemporary repertoire, continuo, improvisation, and performance of a Bach concerto with the acclaimed Lyra Baroque Orchestra (Jacques Ogg, Artistic Director). Semifinals will be live-streamed from The Baroque Room (275 4th St E #280, St Paul) on Thursday 8/4 from 9:00 am to 5:30 pm. The Jurow Competition will culminate in the final round (solo recitals 10:00 am - 4:00 pm & Bach concerto performances 6:00 pm), an awards ceremony, and a reception, all open to the public and viewable remotely, on Saturday August 7 at St. Edward the Confessor Church (865 N. Ferndale Road, Wayzata, MN). A complete schedule and links for remote viewing will be made available on the HKSNA website and as part of the general schedule for the HKSNA virtual conference.


The semifinalists for the competition are:

J. Bennett, Steve Bergeron, Anastasia Chin, Michael Delfin, Christophe Gauthier, Han Cheol Kang, Caitlyn Koester, Weronika Kłosiewicz-Paine, Curtis Pavey, Eszter Szedmák, Duang Wattanasak, Zuguang Xiao, and Elena Zamolodchikova. 


The judges are: 

Frances Conover Fitch (New England Conservatory & Tufts University); Jacques Ogg (Royal Conservatoire, The Hague); Peter Sykes (Boston University and The Juilliard School); Elisabeth Wright (The Jacobs School of Music, Indiana University, Bloomington); and Continuo Judge Jaap Ter Linden (Royal Conservatory of The Hague, Amsterdam Conservatory). 


The competition is directed by Vivian Montgomery (vivian.montgomery [at] (Longy School of Music), to whom inquiries can be directed.




*Sponsored by the Historical Keyboard Society of North America, the Mae & Irving Jurow International Harpsichord Competition (formerly SEHKS International Harpsichord Competition) has occurred approximately every 4 years since the first in 1982. 


It has been held in Tallahassee, Florida (1982 and 1996), Washington, D.C. (1986), Winston-Salem, North Carolina (1991), Bethlehem, Pennsylvania (2002), Denton, Texas (2007), Cincinnati, Ohio (2012), and Oberlin, Ohio (2016). Karyl Louwenaar was its first director, followed by Charlotte Mattax Moersch until passing the directorship to Vivian Montgomery in 2010.

We don’t have any products to show here right now.